Skip to content

Gear Review: Janji Shorts

July 26, 2012

Anyone who knows me will know that I love anything with a bird printed on it. That’s what immediately drew me to the Janji Run for Another Women’s Run for Haiti Shorts – the cute bird print. After reading a bit more about the company online, I was sold and headed over to my local Fleet Feet Sports to get a pair. I got the Janji Run for Haiti Shorts and tested them on two recent runs.

I love these shorts! First, the whole idea of Janji running apparel is great. A portion of the proceeds of sales of all Janji apparel is donated to charity to provide critical services to people in need. The Janji Haiti shorts benefit Meds and Food for Kids’ Medika Mamba, a peanut butter medicine that provides nutrition and needed medicine to starving children. Haiti is the poorest country in the Western Hemisphere and 25% or more of the Haitian children are malnourished, so the support of charities like Meds and Food for Kids is essential. I was pleased to know that a portion of the proceeds from the sale of my shorts was doing good out there in the world.

In addition to making me feel like a good global citizen, the Janji shorts fit and feel great. They are 100% polyester, with a very lightweight feel. The Haiti shorts are Haitian flag’s blue color, and the bird print on the left leg is a Hispaniolan Trogan. The shorts have a thick drawstring, an inner key pocket, and 100% polyester inner briefs. The shorts sport a 3.5 inch inseam, a bit shorter than my usual shorts, but not scary short.

I wore these shorts on two runs. The first was a 5 mile training run and the second a 2.5 mile cross country race. Both runs were in hot, humid conditions. The lightweight feel of the shorts was perfect for the soggy weather. The shorts felt light and breezy, but not thin. Even the inner brief felt lightweight and soft. The material was quick to dry and stayed comfortable even when soaked with sweat. The waistband felt secure and the drawstring enabled me to get a good fit around my waist. The shorts stayed in place through both runs and were very comfortable to wear. After the runs, the shorts washed well, dried in a flash, and looked wrinkle-free.

The fit of the shorts is akin to the Nike Tempo shorts with the 3.5 inch inseam. They are a bit on the smallish side in the legs, true to size in the waist, and a bit bubbly in the hips. I like this fit. It works for me. I got a small and I usually wear a small (I’m a 4-6 in normal clothes). They fit well, even around my muscular thighs.

Overall, I love my new Janji shorts. They fit well, they’re lightweight, and they offer runners an opportunity to give back (even if it’s just a small amount). For sumer running, the Janji Run for Haiti shorts are a great choice.

It’s worth note that Janji also makes a Run for Kenya red short for women, a men’s version of the Haiti and Kenya shorts, and a few cute shirts.

Grade: A

Suggested Retail Price: $38 on the Janji website (check it out!)

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 28, 2012 6:23 am

    They look really cool and it’s great to see businesses supporting others who need help.

I love comments! Share your thoughts here.